Otoe County 4-H members receive county honors

Press Release

Otoe County 4-H members received county awards Sunday, Nov. 7, at the annual 4-H Achievement Celebration.

Otoe County medal winners in their respective project areas are as follows:

ACE Camp: Ryan Damme.

Aerospace: Ryan Damme.

Beef: Justus Kreifels.

Communications: Valerie Bennie and Bailey Boitnott.

Community Service: Emily Van Meter.  

Fashion Show:  Taylor Mead.  

Food and Nutrition: Bryn Boitnott and Jolie Kreifels.  

Home Environment: Lauren Brehm and Kaden Knake.

Horticulture: Cody Damme and Emily Van Meter.

Human Development: Westleigh Santema.

Shooting Sports: Ryan Damme and Aiden Velazco.

Swine:  Cody Damme and Jolie Kreifels.

Theater Arts: Maci Smidt.

Woodworking: Aiden Velazco.

Horse Advancement Level I certificates were given to Bryn Boitnott, Mason Houghton, Calla Masters, Daisa Smidt, Maci Smidt, and Lorelei Walters.

Horse Advancement Level II certificates were given to Bryn Boitnott and Daisa Smidt.

A Horse Advancement Level III certificate was given to Madison Jording.

4-H Council Junior Division Clover award winners are Abigail Bennie, Bryn Boitnott, Jolie Kreifels, Westleigh Santema, Lydia Van Meter, and Aiden Velazco. They each received $50 in Clover Dollars to be used at any 4-H camp, conference, or workshop.  This award is sponsored by the Otoe County 4-H Council.

4-H Council Intermediate Division Clover award winners are Makayla Bennie, Lauren Brehm, Ryan Damme, Liatris Hay and Diego Velazco. They received $75 in Clover Dollars to be used at any 4-H camp, conference, or workshop.  This award is sponsored by the Otoe County 4-H Council.

4-H Council Senior Division Clover award winners are Valerie Bennie, Cody Damme, Timothy Lovelace, and TeaLi Morillo-Fox.  They received $100 in Clover Dollars to be used at any 4-H camp, conference, or workshop.  This award is sponsored by the Otoe County 4-H Council.

Diamond Clover pins were awarded in the following areas: Amethyst – Kennedy Hansen, Chloe Hodges, Kirsten Knake, Westleigh Santema, and Maci Smidt; Aquamarine – Jolie Kreifels, Czandrya Morgan, Amber Schropfer, Aiden Velazco; Ruby – Bryn Boitnott, Lauren Brehm, Daisa Smidt and Diego Velazco; Sapphire – Mavryc Morgan; Emerald – Kaden Knake; and Diamond – Bailey Boitnott.

I Dare You Award winners are Valerie Bennie and Cody Damme. They both received the “I Dare You” book. This award is from the American Youth Foundation and sponsored by the Otoe County 4-H Council.      

The Hard Luck Award winner was Bailey Boitnott for her hard luck of having to butcher her show steer Cash before the county fair due to an injury. She learned that it was a tough decision to keep going or to end Cash’s pain early, even if the end results would still be the same. This was a hard decision for Bailey as her calves are not just a project, but are part of her family. She received $25 from the Otoe County 4-H Council.

Character Counts! Award winner was Cody Damme, who was nominated by Jaclyn Kreifels.  He exemplifies what a true 4-H’er should be and with lots of enthusiasm, and in many categories. Cody always shows respect to adults and youth alike; a truly polite young man with great manners and a mindset for service. He is a good neighbor and outstanding volunteer. Cody received $25 from the Otoe County 4-H Council.    

The Nebraska 4-H Livestock Achievement Program is designed to promote all educational aspects of 4-H livestock projects including selection, production, leadership, and exhibition by recognizing youth striving to improve in their livestock project knowledge and leadership.

The program recognizes Members of Excellence across all 4-H livestock project areas, including: Beef, sheep, meat goat, swine, dairy cattle, dairy goat, rabbit, and poultry.

Otoe County 4-H’er Maggie Roberts was recognized as an Intermediate Member of Excellence in the Sheep and Swine areas. 

The Golden Herdsmanship Awards are traveling awards that give clubs “bragging” rights for the next year as the herdsmanship winner in all livestock areas. These awards will be on display at next year’s fair with the Herdsmanship results. 

Each award given was based upon the highest scoring club in each animal species at the fair this past year.

Golden Herdsmanship Beef Award:  Hoof N Hide 4-H Club.

Golden Herdsmanship Horse Award:  4-H Mustangs.

Golden Herdsmanship Sheep Award:  Little Nemaha 4-H Club.

Golden Herdsmanship Swine Award:  Better Beef Producers.

Golden Herdsmanship Meat Goat Award:  Better Beef Producers.

Lauren Brehm received several awards at the annual Otoe County 4-H Achievement Celebration in Syracuse.
Justus Kreifels received a county beef award and Jolie Kreifels was a multiple award recipient on Nov. 7.
The 4-H Mustangs received the Golden Herdsmanship Horse Award at this year’s Otoe County 4-H Achievement Celebration.