Ricketts announces third state COVID-19 Directed Health Measure

Staff Writer
Syracuse Journal-Democrat

Governor Pete Ricketts announced on March 27 that the state’s third COVID-19 related Directed Health Measure (DHM) includes Butler, Hall, Hamilton, Merrick, Polk, Seward, and York counties, which will be in effect until May 6unless renewed.

The first DHM, issued on March 18, applies to Cass, Douglas, and Sarpy counties and is in effect until at least April 30.

The second DHM, issued on March 25, applies to Dodge, Lancaster, Saunders, and Washington counties and is in effect until at least May 6th.

The DHM and quarantine directions covering all of these counties can be found by clicking here.

The DHM imposes an enforceable limit on public gatherings.  Among other steps, the DHM requires restaurants and bars in these areas to close their dining areas immediately and move to takeout service, delivery, and/or curbside service only until further notice.

Additionally, schools in these areas are directed to operate without students in their buildings.

This restriction does not apply to school staff working in school buildings.

It also does not apply to daycares that may be operated at a school per the Governor’s executive order regarding childcare, which you can access by clicking here.

Counties other than those noted above remain under the guidance issued March 18by the Governor’s Office.  You can find it by clicking here.  If further community transmission cases of COVID-19 occur in other regions of the state, the Governor will announce DHMs covering the additional regions.

In addition to the DHMs issued by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Douglas County Public Health Director Dr. Adi M. Pour has issued an order covering Douglas County from March 18, 2020 through April 30, 2020.  Full details of the order can be found on the Douglas County Health Department website ( or by clicking here.

Furthermore, Lincoln-Lancaster County Health Department also issued a DHM, which can be found by clicking here.  The order lasts until May 6, 2020.