The 42nd annual Syracuse FBLA Awards Banquet was held May 14 to recognize members for their outstanding achievements and install the new chapter officers. Alex Timm, 2018-19 State FBLA President was the guest speaker and also helped with the installation of officers.
Outstanding member awards went to senior Emma Bjork, junior Ben Nannen, sophomore Megan Wallman and freshmen Halle Wilhelm and Teja Farley. The award is based on active participation in all chapter projects.
All chapter members were individually recognized by adviser Susan Wellman at the banquet for their participation in the chapter projects and success at business contests.
Wellman recapped the highlights of the year which included raising over $1000 at the Gold Out for Addie, picking up trash for Adopt-A-Highway, donating gifts for children at Christmas, collecting food for the Food Pantry, raising money for and putting up 10 new Keep Kids Alive Drive 25 signs, donating money to March of Dimes, tying and donating blankets to Project Linus and helping with a variety of projects for the Good Samaritan Society. Members competed in three business contests, attended conferences and received 28 individual awards at SLC, sending 14 students in 8 events to Nationals.
Leading the officer team next year will be, Meredith Clark, president;  Ben Nannen, vice president; Megan Wallman, secretary; Grant Orchard, treasurer;  Emily Baier, reporter; Lauren Meyer and Jennifer Daharsh, co-historians; and Brooklyn Nordhues, parliamentarian. Class representatives are Halle Wilhelm, Taylor Mead, and Genevieve Bennett.
The Business Education Award of Excellence was awarded to six seniors who have been a member in good standing for four years, received an A or B in all of their business classes, and were recognized at a competitive event. Recipients were Pierce Agena, Matteo Antunez, Emma Bjork, Reagan Petersen, Maddie Werner, and Livia Wilhelm.
Two members received the National Business Achievement Award. The award involves four levels of leadership achievement with emphasis on service, education, and progress, the three major principles of FBLA. The Future Award, the first level, was awarded to Livia Wilhelm. Maddie Werner received the Leader Award, which is the third level.  Two members achieved the National Community Service Award. Megan Wallman achieved the Community Level with 50 hour of service and Emma Bjork achieved the Service Level for 150 hours of service.
Reagan Petersen received the Syracuse FBLA Chapter Scholarship for $300. Emma Bjork and Livia Wilhelm each received a $375 Countryside Bank FBLA Scholarship.
Acknowledged for helping the chapter with their activities were Jean Ann Watermeier, Don and Sharon Harms, Mark Czapla, Sarah Wellman, Tyler Wellman, Nick and Lynn Wilhelm, Susan Thies, Gary Stearley, Kathy Bruns, John Agena, Ed Zastera, Orin Orchard and Kyle Bjork. Recipients of Booster Certificates for special contributions to the chapter were Mark Czapla of Countryside Bank, Jacque Wallman, FirstBank of Nebraska-Syracuse and Tracy Bjork, Little Angels/Good Samaritan Society.